Posted by: Connor McCutcheon | April 25, 2012

Sea Otter Stage 4

Sea Otter weekend did not go as well as I had planned after stage 1, but it wasn’t a failure either. In stage 4, the circuit race, I busted out early to win the first sprint points. Once I had those, no one in the field could catch me and I secured the green jersey! Working hard to win the points burnt me out and I fell off the back of the peloton. Team leader, Andy Jacques-Maynes, of Kenda/5 Hour Energy, got a flat and two of his team members stayed with him. After falling off, I joined them and they let me rest. When I got my second wind, I helped pull them back on. Andy Jacques-Maynes won GC. Simple Green teammate, Louis Meintjes, won the KOM (King of the Mountain) jersey and finished 5th in the GC. Despite not placing as well as I could have, finishing 27th in the GC, I definitely got some recognition from the Pro field and made a few great friends.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Responses

  1. You’re such a team player Connor. Your attitude will pay off. You’ll be on a Pro team soon. Just keep showing them what you’re made of.

  2. Way to go Connor! We are always in your corner and hope all your racing dreams come true.

  3. Awesome pictures!!


Leave a comment

Categories